Tips for first year sped teacher?

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by teacher girl, Jul 20, 2013.

1. teacher girl

teacher girl Comrade

Jul 20, 2013

ok, I am a first year teacher and I want to do well so my contract will be renewed.

What types of things will impress administration? I want to give all my parents books on the first PTA night . I found these parent manuals on working with children with disabilities and educational strategies at home for 1 cent a piece on amazon. Do you think that is a good idea ?

Also, any other tips? I am bursting with excitement?

3. BumbleB

BumbleB Habitué

Jul 20, 2013

- Use "person first" language when talking about students. So, you should say, "Billy is a student with autism" rather than "Billy is an autistic student."

- Get a calendar...like NOW. Once you get all of your IEPs for your caseload, go through each one and find the due date. Then, write each due date on your calendar. You need to stay on top of those dates, so that you're in compliance. You'll also need to be aware of those dates so that you can space out your three parent contacts before the meeting.

- Talk to another SPED teacher at your grade level (or school) and ask them what the process is for handling IEPs. Each school probably does it differently. For example, I have to have my IEPs checked by multiple people before they can be sent to be filed in Student Services. Ask someone "in the know" and make yourself a little checklist so you don't forget the process.