Tips for dealing with struggling/trouble students

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Emily W, Sep 29, 2019.

1. Emily W

Emily W New Member

Sep 29, 2019

Hi everyone! Tomorrow I am starting a new job at an elementary school as an aide, specifically for the kiddos who are in ISS. I will be the one that the teachers can call if they need a student to be taken out for some extra help. I’m looking for some of your best tips on how to help students recognize their actions, set goals to be better and overall how you relate and connect with them! This is my first time in an environment like this and I’m looking for ways that I can really help them build trust and make a difference in their lives.

3. Tired Teacher

Tired Teacher Cohort

Sep 29, 2019

I have seen highly successful ISS programs in TX. Oh, how I wish we had them here. :) Congrats on the new job. I think the number 1 key is to hold the child accountable for their actions without accepting excuses.
    If you are firm, fair, and consistent, the student will know what to expect from you. You can find or make a form that the child writes (if they can write, if not talk and pictures)) what they did to end up in ISS.
    You'll probably need to have them rewrite it because the 1st time a lot of kids do not fully admit to what they did or put a lot of excuses down for their behavior. You can help them word it correctly. Then you might take some of the excuses they gave you and brainstorm some ideas of what they could do differently next time if a "like" situation happens.