Tips for applying for jobs out of town?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by tgtbtj, Apr 15, 2015.

1. tgtbtj

tgtbtj Companion

Apr 15, 2015

Hi all its been awhile since I've been on here. I've been teaching preschool for the last five years at my current school but my husband just got accepted to a doctoral program in dallas and now I've had to start the job search all over again. My question is what can I do to make sure I'm seen by principals of various schools. I've already applied through the district sites and I've emailed principals at private catholic schools many of whom have responded with interest but that's about it! Is there anything else I can be doing? I live about ten hours away so that's complicates things. Help!!!!

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Apr 15, 2015

Are you able to set up a local address?

4. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Apr 15, 2015

When I applied for out of town jobs (4 of them), I applied through edjoin.org. I listed my then current address and phone numbers, and it wasn't a problem. I was called by 2 schools to interview, one was 8 hours away, the other 6, I went. rented a car, for one I stayed overnight at a hotel, the other I just went and came back.

It was not an issue. I really don't think you need to have a local address for them to take you seriously. They probably know that you understand this is an out of town position and you are willing to move.

5. tgtbtj

tgtbtj Companion

Apr 16, 2015

Thanks for the tips ladies, I'll just keep trying to put myself out there. It's just so hard to face rejection or not even getting a response.

6. Teppiedoo

Teppiedoo Rookie

Apr 16, 2015

That is super helpful to hear! I am applying long distance and have only been emailing principals. So far I have heard nothing. I think I am going to have to start calling :) Thank you for the help!!

7. MacGuffin

MacGuffin Companion

Apr 17, 2015