times tables incentives..

Discussion in 'Fourth Grade' started by NewbieTeach, Aug 9, 2008.

1. NewbieTeach

NewbieTeach Rookie

Aug 9, 2008

Hello everyone...I'm new to 4th grade and i remember when i was in fourth grade we did something to help us with our times tables...Like we took a lil test to see if we mastered the table we studied that night..i was wondering if you have any ideas to do this..i know in fourth learning the tables is super important..i found this picture of a "times table touchdown" but i'm not sure how i could use this..do the mini quizes have to be timed?

http://http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a287/3littlemonkeys/school/classroom3.jpg

(to the person whose picture I found that from..THANKS!!!!!)

3. NewbieTeach

NewbieTeach Rookie

Aug 9, 2008

opps heres that picture...

[​IMG]

4. SouperTeach

SouperTeach Companion

Aug 10, 2008

What a cute idea! If I were going to use it, I would have footballs with each of the students' names on them. As the students showed mastery in their times tables, I would move them to that line.

I think that, to a certain extent they need to be timed just to show that they are fluent. If you don't time them, they could just be counting on their fingers.

5. NewbieTeach

NewbieTeach Rookie

Aug 10, 2008

I totally agree! I'm unsure of how much time to give them tho!

6. zoodies

zoodies Rookie

Aug 10, 2008

I give my kids 25 questions each day, going in order 2, 3, 4, ....