Time to find a new school?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Toast, Jul 25, 2011.

1. Toast

Toast Companion

Jul 25, 2011

When do you know it is time to find a new school to teach at?

What working conditions would/did it take to make you want to look for a job somewhere else?

Distance? Your principal? Coworkers? Lack of funding in your district for things like lunch duty aids and specials?

I have been teaching for 3 1/2 years at my school (the only school I have ever taught at) and there is talk of only 15 minutes for lunch and no specials for this upcoming school year.

I must also state that my state does not have a teacher's union.

I am planning to stay for this school year because I need the maternity leave benefits, however, I am contemplating finding a new district for 2012-2013.

Thoughts? What would it take for you to look elsewhere?

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Jul 25, 2011

When you are no longer happy going to work most days, it is time to find a new school.

4. a2z

a2z Maven

Jul 25, 2011

I agree with Mopar.

None of the things you listed in and of themselves will make everyone unhappy. If YOU aren't happy with the changes, then it is time to move on. Just be sure the next school really fits you needs and you don't go from one situation you are unhappy with to another situation you are unhappy with and the new person.

5. Andrea L

Andrea L Habitué

Jul 25, 2011

However, check the surrounding schools and districts as well. I know a lot of schools and districts are really struggling.

I love my co-workers and my job MOST days. Some days though, I really wish I could move to a school closer to home. That being said, the districts closer to my house are struggling even more than the district I currently work for. :2cents:

6. skittleroo

skittleroo Connoisseur

Jul 25, 2011