Time frame on Book Reports

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by ~Nicole, Jul 18, 2007.

1. ~Nicole

~Nicole Comrade

Jul 18, 2007

Is there a general rule of thumb on a time frame for book reports in 4th grade. I have always been an extremely fast reader so I'm no basis for comparison.

3. blessedmommyx3

blessedmommyx3 Rookie

Jul 18, 2007

I give my third graders one month to do their book report, but they have to read the book, fill out the form and make the project.

4. missdq

missdq Rookie

Jul 18, 2007

Im also a fourth grade teacher and i have been struggling with book reports as well. A friend of mine suggested having multiple due dates. One week to get book, 2 weeks to finish book, and another week to complete report. Basically the same month that blessedmommy suggested.

Do u guys have any suggestions on actual book report forms. I bought a great book from scholastin and then my luck our new third grade teacher bought the exact book and has done all the reports i wanted to do. Ive been searching online but i haven't found anything that i really like. I want hands on reports that students can have fun with.
    One idea ive used is to have them create picture books using one of their favprite books. and when it was completed it we read them to the first graders. It worked out great b/c 3 of my students had siblings in that class so they were really excited about it. It was alot of work but all my parents mentioned how surprised they were to see their kids actually excited to complete them.

5. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Jul 18, 2007

I gave 5th graders 1 month. It was almost all at-home reading.

6. Ms. Jane

Ms. Jane Companion

Jul 18, 2007

I also give my 3rd graders one month to read the book and do the project. The book reports are due on the last school day of every month.

7. MissaG

MissaG Companion

Jul 18, 2007