Time for another book thread

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by Maryhf, Dec 18, 2011.

1. Maryhf

Maryhf Connoisseur

Dec 18, 2011

I'm pretty sure Santa isn't bringing me the Kindle Fire I asked for but a student gave me a gift card :clap: and I'm ready to spend it on a book.
    Any suggestions? I like all kinds of books. I'm in the middle of the latest Grisham. I loved The Help and the Swedish "girl" series. I also enjoy historical fiction. I'm intrigued by Americans in Paris. Has anyone read it?
    Others on my list are:
    The Greater Journey (McCullough)
    Silver Sparrow
    Vision in White (Roberts)
    Nothing Daunted (Wickenden)
    Rules of Civility (Towles)
    I'm sure they are all good but I'd love some recommendations.I can't buy them all. As a MS teacher, I'm lucky to have received any gift so I'd like to enjoy it!
    Thanks!

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Dec 18, 2011

Wait and make sure you don't get the Kindle.

I'm rereading A Christmas Carol :)

4. Maryhf

Maryhf Connoisseur

Dec 18, 2011

Santa sent me to Europe this summer. He better not spend that much on me this year lol. I'm not going to purchase anything until after Christmas. I have way too much to do to purchase for myself. However, I can think about it!

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Dec 18, 2011

WOW!!! Could you remind him of my address?

6. mmswm

mmswm Moderator

Dec 18, 2011

Wow. Santa needs my address too!

7. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Dec 18, 2011

...and mine!

8. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Dec 18, 2011

Darn! I see now what I get for being such a Santa hater! :haha:

I love a good, intense book as much as everyone (and oh how I like to cry...that's a sign of a great novel), but if you want a quick and funny read and like her sort of humor, Ellen's newest book had me laughing outloud!

9. bandnerdtx

bandnerdtx Aficionado

Dec 18, 2011