Time Fillers and end of the day.

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by Olivesmom, Nov 13, 2007.

1. Olivesmom

Olivesmom Rookie

Nov 13, 2007

Hello. I was wondering if anyone had some ideas for time fillers when you have about 5 to 10 minutes with nothing to do. This is my first year teaching in first grade (student taught in first however). My class is insane and they cannot have a minute with nothing to do. Does anyone have any ideas for time fillers besides I spy and games like hangman?
    Also how do you handle the end of the day? I have started getting my kids ready about 45 minutes early because I still have several parents who don't seem to understand when school ends and come super early (even though it has been made blatently clear. Does not seem to matter in the area I work in, kids come late to school everyday too!) and it also takes them so long to get their things in a calm manner that I can't rush it. I usually just have them do a coloring sheet because they will not sit still and read books. Any other suggestions for activities that don't involve me being at the board since I have to keep one eye on the class and one eye on the hall?

3. DaveF

DaveF Companion

Nov 13, 2007

I do mental math with my 1st graders. No fingers, addition & subtraction. They like it. I try to keep it fast paced.

4. maroki

maroki Comrade

Nov 13, 2007

I do a couple different things:

Spelling word review with our bodies (clapping, stomping, jumping...I don't mind them getting a little rowdy since they'll be going home in about 15 minutes)

Reading Comprehension papers; I read the story and they answer questions

Practicing math facts (skip counting, doubles facts, etc.)

A fun crossword or word search; if they don't finish it they put it in their "unfinished work" folder and we'll pull it out another time

Sometimes if they really need calming down, I'll grab a book from the bookshelf and do a read aloud.

5. Proud2BATeacher

Proud2BATeacher Phenom

Nov 13, 2007