Thumb sucking 5 year old

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by forkids, Apr 26, 2008.

1. forkids

forkids Cohort

Apr 26, 2008

I have a 5 year old girl in my pre-k class who constantly sucks her thumb. I have taught pre-k for 9 years and have not had a student before who did this. I have had a few who would suck their thumb occasionally when tired or stressed, but not constantly- all day long - and they were young 4 year olds. Her thumb is a mess - red and sore looking most of the time. Her mom says she's always done it and does not seem to have a problem with it. Has anyone had a student like this? How did you handle it? Is it really unusual at this age? Should I leave her alone or try to correct her? I have been reminding her to take her thumb out of her mouth, but without much success since she does it constantly at home.

3. Teacher2Be123

Teacher2Be123 Companion

Apr 26, 2008

I don't have any advice for you, but I can tell you this. I graduated with a girl (from high school) who still would suck her thumb. She was in one of my classes and you would look at her and see it in her mouth. It might just be a comfort thing for the student. You won't be able to fix it without the support of the parents though, otherwise it is going to be a losing battle for you. Your telling her at school not to do it, but at home she is being allowed to do it.

4. MsWK

MsWK Habitué

Apr 26, 2008

I'd ask the parents if they had brought it up with their dentist. Otherwise, leave it alone. Give the child plenty of things to occupy her hands and try to not let it get to you. I do know 2 Ks in my program who still suck their thumbs.

5. Proud2BATeacher

Proud2BATeacher Phenom

Apr 26, 2008

I have a friend from New York who told me that she sucked her thumb through high school. She told me that she only stopped when one of her boyfriend's told her that he wouldn't hold her hand. Could there be 2 high school thumb suckers in NY?!:D

6. chemteach55

chemteach55 Connoisseur