Threatened essay test - would rather not give it...

Discussion in 'High School' started by ambritlit, Sep 22, 2007.

1. ambritlit

ambritlit Companion

Sep 22, 2007

I need advice. I'm a new teacher - 11th and 12th gr English - and I have one class that is absolutely out of control. They totally ignore when I tell them to get quiet - I'm amazed at the absolute rudeness of it. On Friday I was trying to start my lecture introducing a new topic and attempted several times to begin. I refuse to yell... finally I just got really fed up, closed my book, and told them that since they apparently know all of this material we'll go straight to an essay test next class. I advised them they might want to read over the material before then, and I sat down. They were so shocked, you could've heard a pin drop for the next 30 minutes. They left quietly when the bell rang and that was that.

My dilemma is I'd rather not do the essay test, but I don't want to back down. I feel that this will set me up as a pushover. But I hate to punish the few who weren't misbehaving with the rest. Some of these kids are really worried about their grades. I thought about giving the essay test but holding off on posting the grades to edline to see if behavior improves. We don't drop grades, so if it's posted it'll be counted. Any ideas??

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Sep 22, 2007

You've stated that it will be a consequence. The first rule of both parenting and teaching is this: don't make any threats that you're not prepared to follow through on.

If you're determined NOT to give it, how's this:

Walk in Monday, and give the test. Make it a killer. Collect it at the end of the period. Then let them know that you will NOT even look at the tests until the next time their behavior is out of control. If and when that day comes, the test counts.

Christmas has come in September. But remember: Santa comes only once a year.

4. silverspoon65

silverspoon65 Enthusiast

Sep 22, 2007