Thoughts on Male Elementary Teachers

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by futureteacher13, Oct 8, 2013.

1. futureteacher13

futureteacher13 Rookie

Oct 8, 2013

Hello Everyone! I am wanting to become an elementary school teacher in the future. I have a BA degree in Social Science with Education Concentration from Ashford University. I'm wanting to know what your thoughts are on male elementary school teachers.

3. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Oct 8, 2013

I'm a male elementary classroom teacher. Parents are a little surprised at first, but I've never had any trouble. You obviously have to be more careful about any type of physical contact with female students than women do (depending on the age, girls can be huggers), but I've never had any trouble. Most parents end up being glad that I was their child's teacher because, "they've never had anything but women teachers before, and the women are always too nice on them."

I've also found out the hard way that girls develop crushes on their teachers at younger ages than boys do.

4. HorseLover

HorseLover Comrade

Oct 8, 2013

I think it's great! The kids (especially the boys) need good male role models too!

5. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Oct 8, 2013

There are not enough of them.

6. RedStripey

RedStripey Comrade

Oct 8, 2013

I agree that there needs to be more of them. My all-time favorite teacher (and the reason why I became a teacher) was my 3rd grade teacher. He was male.

There are a lot of male teachers in the elementary school I work at now. I currently work with two of them and they are my favorite people to work with. The kids adore them too :)

7. RedStripey

RedStripey Comrade

Oct 8, 2013

LOL. In one of the classes I work in with a male teacher, one of the girls obviously has a crush on him. It's so cute.

8. Ted

Ted Habitué

Oct 8, 2013

I'm a male teacher. Yes, the minority, but I wouldn't trade it for the world. :)