Those with undergrad NOT in education...

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by inspireNteach, Jul 14, 2013.

1. inspireNteach

inspireNteach Rookie

Jul 14, 2013

Did you find it difficult to find your first teaching job?

How did you go about obtaining your certification (MAT or non-degree cert. program)?

Did you student teach? Did you find yourself at a sort of disadvantage because you hadn't been in a classroom before?

And, finally, if you had it to do all over again, would you go the same route?

TIA! :)

3. TinyTeacher

TinyTeacher Rookie

Jul 14, 2013

My bachelors degree is in fashion merchandising. I graduated with my MAT this May and I'm having a hard time finding a job. I'm certified EC-6,esl,and 4-8 ELAR. I did do student teaching in 5th and 1st grade. Honestly had I had foresight I would have gotten an education related bachelors.

4. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Jul 14, 2013

See my answers to your questions below....

Did you find it difficult to find your first teaching job? Nope. I only interviewed with three schools before landing my first job. I was offered my job during spring break of student teaching, well before the next school year began.

How did you go about obtaining your certification (MAT or non-degree cert. program)? M.Ed. program for initial teacher certification - dual cert in elementary and sped

Did you student teach? Did you find yourself at a sort of disadvantage because you hadn't been in a classroom before? I did student teach. Eight weeks in regular ed. and eight weeks in sped. I had a lot of field experience built into my coursework, so student teaching was not my first time in the classroom. I imagine this is similar to how bachelor's programs are set up, too. I think it's pretty rare that student teaching is one's first experience in a classroom.