Those with no job still...what do you think?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by USCgrad, Sep 13, 2008.

1. USCgrad

USCgrad Companion

Sep 13, 2008

is the reason?

i have a masters in elem ed and interdisciplinary undergrad...i went to UOP and fear that my having gone to UOP online is the reason I am getting love from schools!

what do you suppose might be holding you back?

what are your thoughts of my thinking????

what can i do to improve myself for future opportunities?!?

3. MissWull

MissWull Cohort

Sep 13, 2008

Well seeing as how I've only had 2 interviews (those only being preliminary interviews) I think there are just way too many applicants and not enough positions. Or maybe just too many applicants that I'm not even getting looked at. OR perhaps it's my lack of experience because this would be my first year.

I don't know. Whatever the reason, I just want to do what I've gone to school all these years for...as I'm sure everyone else is feeling the same way. But in the meantime I'm searching for full-time work elsewhere, yet on the side I keep my eyes and ears open for teaching positions.

4. CanadianTeacher

CanadianTeacher Groupie

Sep 13, 2008

In my case it's declining enrollment. There are less kids, plus the school board is always looking for ways to cut, so the newer teachers, despite already having been hired find themselves redundent. A few postings just came out on Thursday and there is one that I signed for. However, it's only a 0.8. If I am the most senior qualified redundant teacher it will automatically be mine and I will still retain my rights to full time for the following year. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

5. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Sep 13, 2008

I think the reason is that I don't know the right people. I have two principals tell me that my resume and cover letter are great and that I present myself in a professional manner.