Thnking of becoming montessori teacher..

Discussion in 'Montessori Archives' started by bkimberli, Mar 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bkimberli

bkimberli New Member

Mar 10, 2006

Hello,
    I am a mommy of 2 boys, 1 year old and 5 year old. My 5 year old is now in prek in a local montessori private preschool. I have my bachelors degree in health, leisure and exercise science and right now am a stay at home mom. I really enjoy montessori and the director of his school, after i volunteer there so much, wants me to go to montessori training and become a teacher there. Right now she only goes to 1st grade but wants to continue to grow. My question is basically how do you like montessori? I love it! but want to know what to expect and if i should even consider it. Any input you could give me would be great! I appreciate it and look forward to hearing lots of good stuff! thank you
    Kim

3. mommaruthie

mommaruthie Aficionado

Mar 10, 2006

kim,
    I am a huge fan of montessori. I hope you find the class time rewarding. My certification is in ages 6-9 and 9-12. My FAVORITE time was watching the 2 and a half year olds working in the same room as five year olds!
    Ruth

4. Pattypoo

Pattypoo Comrade

Mar 11, 2006

I love Montessori. I started out the same way. My son attended Montessori from preschool-6th grade. I started out as an assistant in the 3-6 early childhood class. I then went for my training. If you are not sure, then I would strongly suggest that you become an assistant. It would be to your advantage to have the classroom experience before going for training. You will be able to better understand the presentations of the lessons. GOOD LUCK!

5. montessori bob

montessori bob Rookie

Mar 12, 2006

Check out Angeline Stoll Lillard's book "Montessori: The Science Behind the Genius." This book will give you a better understanding of Montessori.

6. Grammy Teacher

Grammy Teacher Virtuoso

Mar 14, 2006