This Kiddo Is Driving Me Batty-Long

Discussion in 'General Education' started by DressageLady, Sep 27, 2014.

1. DressageLady

DressageLady Comrade

Sep 27, 2014

Okay, I need help. Back story: I am a first year teacher who came to education later in life. I have years of professional experience in children's mental health (working with SED and juvenile justice children living in residential treatment).

I was in the building setting up for a few weeks before school started. Although I was unable to meet up with my grade level partners before teachers were called back to work, I was able to get comfortable in the building and meet several of the other teachers in other grades (including the other two teachers new to the school). Everywhere I went I kept hearing about how challenging this group of first graders was. Even the P commented on how much they struggled with dividing this group up into the four different classrooms, since there were so many kiddos presenting issues. We had our first grade level PD half day last week and the P commented that she lost sleep the night before thinking about having all four of us out of our rooms at the same time.

Within three weeks of school starting I had IEP meetings for two of my most pressing kiddos ( one a non-verbal boy with an Autism diagnoses who just started RR pull outs four days a week and the other a sweet girl who appears to have some intellectual delays). Plus I have a parent who is a SPED teacher in another district who is convinced her daughter as an unspecified learning disability, which is not supported by the data collected or by my experience with her daughter in the classroom. All of this means that it has been a challenge for a first year teacher such as myself. One of the kinder teachers told me that last year's K students were the lowest performing, most difficult to work with that she had ever seen in 23 years of teaching kindergarten.