This is Why I Don't Have Facebook

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Myrisophilist, Jun 5, 2011.

1. Myrisophilist

Myrisophilist Habitué

Jun 5, 2011

I'm a pre-teacher candidate/college student but I do not maintain a Facebook account for these very reasons. I would never write derogatory things about my students, but there have been so many cases of misinterpretation that it's not worth the risk. I think this statement sums up my feelings:

"And a teacher should not lob gratuitous barbs at her students, which contradicts her own professional duty: to teach the skills and habits of democracy. Yes, teachers have a responsibility to transmit the topics and principles of the prescribed curriculum. But they also need to teach democratic capacities -- including reason, debate and tolerance -- so our children learn to think on their own.

Teachers won't be able to model those skills if our schools and courts continue to muzzle them. But the same democratic imperative also demands that teachers responsibly restrict what they say, just as other professionals do."

When Teachers Talk Out of School: [Op-Ed]
    Zimmerman, Jonathan
    New York Times 04 June 2011

IN 1927, a schoolteacher in Secaucus, N.J., named Helen Clark lost her teaching license. The reason? Somebody had seen her smoking cigarettes after school hours. In communities across the United States, that was a ground for dismissal. So was card-playing, dancing and failure to attend church. Even after Prohibition ended, teachers could be dismissed for drinking or frequenting a place where liquor was served.

Today, teachers can be suspended, and even fired, for what they write on Facebook.