THIS is why I became a teacher!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Miss J. Pre-K, Nov 26, 2008.

1. Miss J. Pre-K

Miss J. Pre-K Comrade

Nov 26, 2008

So I'm a first year teacher who is beginning to get the blahs (need more sunlight, maybe?) Can my fellow teachers post stories that you have that really validated your reason for choosing teaching (or maybe just why you became a teacher)? I could really use some inspiration. Thanks. :love:

3. Sheba

Sheba Companion

Nov 26, 2008

Hearing back from students after they've graduated (even if they're sending you their university assignments to proof-read, lol). Here's one of my favourites that I got the day after graduation last year:

Hello~ Mr._______.

I'm _________.
    I finished the course of high school yesterday with my friends.
    I wanted to say something to you.
    But, I didn't talk with you any word.
    So, I'm writing e-mail now.
    Thank you very much!!
    I learned many thing including English from you.
    Also, Thanks to your guide, I could go Canada and see lots of beautiful sight.
    You didn't get angry even if we would fret.
    I hope you live happily forever.

Bye~

p.s. Maybe I mistook english grammar or expression. ^^

4. midwestteacher

midwestteacher Cohort

Nov 26, 2008

Not a classroom story, but I advise a club. I had a student that wasn't involved in anything but my club at school. He had a tough act to follow - sister was prom queen, student council president, etc. He was quiet different. Mom and Dad just wanted him to get through school. I got him involved in one of the award programs. He ended up being in the running for a state award. He won regionals and was recognized at the capital as a state finalist. His mom is an aide at school and when I went to tell her she needed to get a day off to go see him on the stage at the capital, she started crying and had to go call her hubby.

5. Bored of Ed

Bored of Ed Enthusiast

Nov 26, 2008