Third grade: Teaching equivalent fractions on a number line. How do you personally do it?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by teacherperson, Nov 12, 2016.

1. teacherperson

teacherperson Rookie

Nov 12, 2016

I'm a student teacher in third grade. We've already talked about equivalent fractions and starting this Monday, we're going to start teaching them how to show equivalent fractions on a number line. I have no idea how to do this? Any advice? How you personally go about this?

3. miss-m

miss-m Devotee

Nov 12, 2016

The only thing that comes to mind for me is a minilesson I taught during college - we made different numberlines split into different fractions (halves, fourths, etc.) and lined them all up on top of each other. That way the kids could see that 2/4 and 1/2 (and 3/6 and 4/8 or whatever other fractions you're teaching) all line up in the middle. Once they see it visually and make that connection you can start talking about how the numbers match up - 2 is half of 4, 3 is half of 6, 4 is half of 8, 1 is half of 2... etc. so you can tie it back to them all being equivalent.

4. FourSquare

FourSquare Fanatic

Nov 12, 2016

4aba682ec84f0436bcc87a1d4f31a53f.jpg

That's how I'd do it as described above.

ZeeS, Obadiah, Upsadaisy and 2 others like this.
  5. FourSquare

FourSquare Fanatic

Nov 12, 2016

But maybe you mean an actual number line?

I googled and saw this on IXL:

Screen Shot 2016-11-12 at 10.29.37 AM.png

That could also be a thing. But I stand by fraction strips first. ;)

czacza likes this.
  6. miss-m

miss-m Devotee

Nov 12, 2016

I think either - fraction strips probably work best because the students can physically make them with strips of paper, which adds a kinesthetic aspect that most kids really need.

7. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Nov 12, 2016