Third grade classroom theme(s)?

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by LifetimeLearner, Jul 25, 2013.

1. LifetimeLearner

LifetimeLearner Rookie

Jul 25, 2013

Hi all!

I am a brand-new teacher and will be teaching 3rd grade for an elementary school in Texas.

I am trying to think up themes for my room and ideas to motivate the students and came up with a game theme for the year. What do you think?

The classroom would be decorated with game ideas such as Monopoly (Homeworkopoly: http://teachnet.com/manage/classroom-decor/get-work-done-by-playing-homeworkopoly/), candy land for the behavior chart and then scrabble for the welcome bulletin board (And possibly others).

For third grade, is this too babyish? Or would they like it?

I really think the homeworkopoly could inspire the kids to do their homework.

Any input?

3. LifetimeLearner

LifetimeLearner Rookie

Jul 25, 2013

4. pwhatley

pwhatley Maven

Jul 25, 2013

I think you are right about Dr. Seuss. What will your classroom population be like? Is it an affluent school? In the country? Is it an inner city or low income school? Those could easily determine what the kids would go for and what they won't.

5. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jul 25, 2013

I truthfully don't do an overall theme. I start with a themed back to school week....I've done detectives, rock and roll, sports...but after the ice breakers, beginning of year activities, I'm pretty much content oriented...bulletin boards reflect current work...other than that, my room is bright, colorful and inviting but no overall theme.

The game idea sounds fun...3rd graders still like Dr Seuss but I'm not sure how it would go as a year long theme.

6. LifetimeLearner

LifetimeLearner Rookie

Jul 25, 2013

It's a Title 1 school in an urban school district if that helps. Near a major city and technically 'in' one, but part of a smaller, more rural district. I don't know how else to explain it. The school population is largely minority-based.