Thinking of moving to fl near Disney

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by CreativeTeachR, Jun 14, 2014.

1. CreativeTeachR

CreativeTeachR Companion

Jun 14, 2014

My wife and I have been saying we want to move to fl for 7 years! Maybe it's time to take the plunge :blush: I am already certified in FL and am obsessed with Disney :) but I've heard teaching in fl is a nightmare now :huh: moving from ct to fl is a gamble and I've been through hell and back since 2012. We are a lesbian couple and do want to start a family as well. There is so much to consider :( I'm so torn :help: I am interested in teaching pk or k.

3. MissD59

MissD59 Comrade

Jun 14, 2014

I feel like I am stalking you all over these boards! Haha. I did two internships in college at Disney World in Epcot. My parents bought into the Disney Vacation Club with my Cast Member discount, and I still have friends down there, so I go back at least once a year. I actually just came back from a trip Memorial Day Weekend, and am in the middle of deciding when I want to go this fall for the Epcot International Food and Wine Festival (my favorite time of year down there).

Teaching in Florida is not the greatest, IMHO. The public schools pale in comparison to what you are likely used to in the Northeast. My friends who teach down there teach in mediocre neighborhoods, but they seem to like it. You'd have to look into reciprocity I think. Also keep in mind that school ends earlier in the south, which means that the hiring seasons are a little bit different than they are up north, since the kids return to school in the beginning of August.

It is much cheaper to live in Central Florida than it is to live on Long Island or in CT, however, your salary will be much lower. I really did enjoy living down there at the time, and I do miss it sometimes.

FYI, Central Florida, especially the area around Disney, is extremely gay friendly (a large amount of WDW Cast Members are gay).

4. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso