Thinking of changing careers and just started!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by jteach89, May 24, 2013.

1. jteach89

jteach89 Companion

May 24, 2013

I just graduated a few months ago with a B.A. in Childhood education, and was one of the fortunate ones to get a job right out of college.

Ive been working at a teaching job for almost 4 months and feeling like it is not for me. I have my NYS license in childhood and early childhood education. Maybe its my insecurity, lack of confidence and inexperience but been feeling no motivation to do anything teaching related. Ive decided to apply for a less leadership roles such as assistant teaching to perhaps gain more experience. Even non teaching entry level jobs as well.

I also had a rough start at my work environment as well which really gave me a bad impression so I distrust my boss and feel like there is lack of communication and professionalism as well. I feel like I am not a part of the team.

As hard as it is to find jobs, and as terrible as this economy is, I am trying and coping until I find something else.

So just looking for some advise, should I leave this job on my resume? Should I try to stick it out give it a chance? Has anyone ever been in this situation before? :help: thanks

3. yellowdaisies

yellowdaisies Fanatic

May 24, 2013

4 months...so you started in January? I wonder if the stress and difficulty of starting midyear contributes to your feelings.

Do you think maybe you would like teaching somewhere with a better work environment and a more supportive boss?

4. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

May 24, 2013

It can really vary by school. In the area I am searching in, 80% of the middle school jobs require you to have a secondary certificate. Where I teach, it doesn't matter one way or they other.

However, I will point out that a history endorsement isn't likely to help you a lot. Social Studies positions are generally over saturated. You will have a lot more success with math/science.