Thinking about putting in my resignation letter mid-year?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by LittleShakespeare, Jan 31, 2018.

1. LittleShakespeare

LittleShakespeare Comrade

Jan 31, 2018

I just had a panic attack in the bathroom. I've been vomiting for the past hour, and I think I need some help. I'm only asking for help here because I don't trust anyone at this school.

I'm a new teacher at this urban school. I am the primary teacher in a support classroom, but my co-teacher despises me. She gossips about me like crazy, steals my material to laugh about it with her friends, and tattles on me to my supervisor. I just had my second post-observation meeting with my vice principal. She abhorred my lesson. Apparently, the teacher I am working with made complaints about me being too nice and not rigorous enough. She stole my material and showed it to the VP, who then gave me a terrible score for my unplanned observation.

I have no idea what to do anymore. I thought I was doing well, but I don't think this school is for me. I don't want to come to work tomorrow because all the lessons I made aren't rigorous enough, and I have no idea how to start anew.

I feel like everything I learned was trial by fire. I was doing so well at my old school, the one I was fired from for a terrible mistake on my part. I was a long-term sub there, but my observations were phenomenal and my lesson plans were loved by the principal.

What am I going to do?

3. Teacher234

Teacher234 Cohort

Jan 31, 2018

First of all, you need to take some control of your co-teacher. As a lead teacher, you have the right, maybe even a responsibility, to report any unacceptable behavior performed by your co-teacher. Request a replacement co-teacher (long-term sub).
    From personal experience, if you are having difficulty meeting the school's standards for teachers, discuss the matter with the admin team or the schools "Teacher Improvement Director".