Thinking about Preschool

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by New, Oct 4, 2013.

1. New

New Rookie

Oct 4, 2013

Hi all,

I am a certified k-5 teacher. I haven't been able to a land a teaching job since graduating college in 2009. I have been subbing on and off, and just began to consider teaching or working in a preschool/daycare. I see some job postings for infant/toddler/pre-k teachers and assistant teachers.

Since I'm new to all of this should I start out with being an assistant to get the hang of things? I would be really new to the preschool environment and its routines and thought by being an assistant it might help me assimilate.

Also, should I apply for infant teacher/teacher assistant jobs because I don't have any real experience working with babies. I understand that babies are very precious and I would not want to harm them. I think I have changed a couple of diapers in my life. I don't know much about feeding them. Are daycares willing to train or should I avoid this age group?

Any other tips or suggestions would be helpful, I'm really lost as to what to do with myself. :(

3. scmom

scmom Enthusiast

Oct 4, 2013

You will need to look at your state's licensing laws to see if you have the qualifications needed. For example, in California, even with a bachelor's degree and an elementary credential there are some classes you have to take specifically to work with preschoolers or infants, although only about 12 units which is pathetic.

Unless you work for a school district, you will take a big pay cut.

Yes, I would work with preschoolers. Working with infants is a passion most people don't have and, imo, boring.

Good luck.

4. eternalsaudade

eternalsaudade Companion

Oct 4, 2013