Thinking about buying a house - HELP!

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by MrsTeacher2Be, Jun 19, 2009.

1. MrsTeacher2Be

MrsTeacher2Be Companion

Jun 19, 2009

DH and I are going this afternoon to get pre-approved for a mortgage so we can start house hunting. Actually, we've already looked at a few houses, one of which we are both totally in love with. It really is fabulous - 3100+ square feet, gorgeous pool with brand new liner, 2 story, HUGE master suite, 4 bedroom, 3.5 bath, tons of storage, basement rooms (not included in square footage), central vacuum, big deck, etc. The only downside is, of course, we're not sure if we can get it financed since it is on the upper end of our budget (I think).

I know there have been a few AtoZer's buying houses lately, and I'm totally new at this. Any advice? Anything we should be paying attention to that we may not have thought of yet?

3. dizzykates

dizzykates Habitué

Jun 19, 2009

I would be very cautious if it's on the upper end of your budget. Banks will approve you for anything, I don't care if they say they are reformed. They approved me alone for a mortgage I could only dream of and I know full well I couldn't afford the mortgage we have without my husband.

The house sounds lovely! Sounds like a beautiful place to live with lots of room to grow so you know you'd be there a long time which is always good. However, have you considered maintaining that much space? Do you have the time/energy/means to do that? How about the water bills for heating and filling the pool? Can you afford to run the pool if you have it?

I don't mean to be a downer, I just know I would love such a house, but that I can't afford it without putting myself if serious financial jeopardy.

4. Crzy_ArtTeacher

Crzy_ArtTeacher Comrade

Jun 19, 2009