Think I Am Being Set Up - Guidance Needed

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by Culturanta, Sep 25, 2012.

1. Culturanta

Culturanta Rookie

Sep 25, 2012

Hello,

I am a secondary teacher who feels very out of place in my new school. I started here in August. My last school had a very different culture than this one and my direct supervisor has a communication style very different from my own. Nothing has been said to me directly but my gut is telling me that things are not going well.

I just wondered if there are any red flags that I should look for as possible signs that my job could be in jeapordy. There is nobody at my school that I can trust so I cannot talk about my feelings/fears openly with them.

I am assuming I would need to get at least one written warning before I would be fired, but I work in an at-will state. My school does not have a union.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

3. Tasha

Tasha Phenom

Sep 25, 2012

What does your contract say? Generally, being non-renewed is a bigger possibility than being fired during the school year. Most disttricts I know of have some kind of professional growth plan or something they implement when things aren't going well - basically identify areas of weakness and ways to improve it.

4. Culturanta

Culturanta Rookie

Sep 25, 2012

I do not have a contract, I am an at will employee. I can be let go anytime. I work for a charter school. I am told that they "clean house" the day before winter break so people are let go mid-year.

5. Tasha

Tasha Phenom

Sep 25, 2012

It is hard to say with a charter school. I hope you are wrong, but it is hard to work in that kind of environment. Is there an area you can improve on?

6. Culturanta

Culturanta Rookie

Sep 25, 2012