Things you wish you knew in your first year...

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Nicholas92, Dec 11, 2016.

1. Nicholas92

Nicholas92 New Member

Dec 11, 2016

Any great pieces of advice for a new teacher? What things should I buy? Teacher Planner? etc.

I'm a secondary school teacher, starting in January :)

3. shoreline02

shoreline02 Cohort

Dec 11, 2016

What subject? grades?

4. justwanttoteach

justwanttoteach Cohort

Dec 11, 2016

Last year was my first year. I have an endless supply of pencil and jolly ranchers in my classroom. Also buy a box of those tiny golf pencils. If student forgets their pencils they can use your tiny ones. Its cheaper than buying huge packs of regular size pencils and the kids hate using them.

Things I wish I had known last year that I get now: Before jumping into content with your students spend some time getting to know them and vice versa. This is super important!

5. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Dec 11, 2016

Know your content.

6. Nicholas92

Nicholas92 New Member

Dec 11, 2016

:)

7. Nicholas92

Nicholas92 New Member

Dec 11, 2016

English and Humanities :)

pinkcupcake90 likes this.
  8. justwanttoteach

justwanttoteach Cohort

Dec 11, 2016

I am not sure what grade level you have for English or what your access to technology is but if you have access to commputers try these websites

www.readtheory.com
    Provides reading comprehension quizzes and passages to students based on their lexile abilities.

www.noredink.com
    Good for grammar and reading skills. REALLY good for EL students

www.writeabout.com
    Provides daily journals or writing prompts

www.edpuzzle.com
    Uses video clips with embeded questions for students to answer as a way of Checking for understanding.

ms.irene likes this.
  9. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Dec 11, 2016