They took it away

Discussion in 'General Education' started by tchr4evr, Jun 2, 2014.

1. tchr4evr

tchr4evr Companion

Jun 2, 2014

Am I crazy . . .

At my school, I have been running my theatre program for nine years---I built it up from the bottom. I do everything with the help of students and parents. I have 14 years of theatre ed experience, plus 20 years of professional/community theatre experience. I have connections all over our area with local theatre groups that helps me brings guests, etc. into the program. I am certified to teach theatre and have a degree in theatre. I got a glowing evaluation, and have every year I've been here, with my comments always being about my dedication to the theatre program. My principals have seen my shows this year (for the first time in years) and have had nothing but good to say.

And then, they decided to interview for the position, and gave it to the other candidate--who happens to be a friend of their's from their old school.

Now, I don't know the reasons yet--my P will tell me today, but I can't for the life of me see any reason why. Perhaps she is more qualified, but I don't see how that's possible since she's younger than me.

I am just in shock!

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Jun 2, 2014

Apparently it is time to move on?

4. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Jun 2, 2014

That is absolutely awful. I am so sorry.

5. kcjo13

kcjo13 Phenom

Jun 2, 2014

I hope you have a union. I'm no expert, but there has to be some reason they can just interview for your position. Are you being nonrenewed?

6. MikeTeachesMath

MikeTeachesMath Devotee

Jun 2, 2014

Honestly, if they did that to me, I'd be gone in September.

7. bandnerdtx

bandnerdtx Aficionado

Jun 2, 2014

Yes, I would not stay around after that. Whatever reason they give you, it isn't going to be good enough or make you feel better. They clearly don't respect you as a teacher, and you deserve better than that.

8. Bella2010

Bella2010 Habitué

Jun 2, 2014