They don't like my class and I don't blame them!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Peregrin5, Sep 23, 2013.

1. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Sep 23, 2013

My student's don't like my elective class that I'm teaching this year, and I don't blame them. I don't like the elective class that I'm teaching this year. It's simply not fun.

I'm only a second year teacher so a lot of my time is spent still building and perfecting my last year's curriculum in my main subject. I've changed around so many things that it feels like I'm essentially starting over with creating my materials. I'm also doing a lot of leadership positions now because I was essentially volunteered for them. I'm also finishing BTSA, doing a New Teacher Induction Program at a nearby facility, and taking night classes. Because of this my elective lessons feel uninspired.

I don't even like the subject that I'm teaching. I can't bring myself to feel passionate about it, like I can my core subject, but I don't have the time to really build something I'm passionate about around it. I'm limited to using other people's worksheets, and following a formulaic day plan that requires less planning.

This has got to change, but I don't know how I'm going to find the time without driving me up the wall with stress. The students are barely hanging onto the rules and misbehavior is starting to creep in as students feel dissatisfied with the class.

I'm currently working off of the previous years' curriculum that I got from the last teacher, which is Journalism, but I don't like Journalism, and the students don't like writing in an elective class.

I'd like to involve more computer usage, and maybe do some web design, but again very little time to plan, and unfortunately our computer labs are like kaput. Every time we've tried to use them, there were simply too many technical difficulties and we got absolutely nothing done.