They are jerking me over..again

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by EducateElise, Aug 14, 2009.

1. EducateElise

EducateElise Rookie

Aug 14, 2009

About four years ago I was a 3rd grade teacher at this charter school. A week after school started I was moved to Pre-K. then demoted to a teacher assistant before I just said forget it and resigned.

Well over the summer this same school called me back and asked to come and teach 8th grade. (Which is my certification area) I am on a probationary certificate so I have to teach one full year before I am fully certified. I just wrote the last incident up to happenstance and agreed to go back.

Yesterday I was told that the principal went and hired another teacher behind my back to take my place and they wanted to move me to another grade. She was having second thoughts and didn't feel I had enough experience to teach middle school yet. I left another job to return to this school and now may be left with nothing. My classroom was already decorated. School begins next week. I have been moved to the 1st grade! Next week it could be Kindergarten. Who knows?!

I could really kick myself. I honestly thought this time things would be different, surely I wouldn't be burned twice.

This is an at will school, we sign no contracts. Suppose I'm left without a job?

Can you tell me of any other options on dealing with this?

3. Missy99

Missy99 Connoisseur

Aug 14, 2009

Who at the school contacted you to come back? The principal or someone else?

I would contact an attorney to find out if you have any legal support in this matter.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 14, 2009