themes or no themes

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by clynns, Jul 30, 2009.

1. clynns

clynns Companion

Jul 30, 2009

I am grade chair this year and one of my fellow K teachers from last year will be with me again. However, a teacher from another school is coming in to fill our third K position. She is very much into weekly themes. I'm not. I have so much to teach that I feel weekly themes will require me too much time looking for theme ideas. I'd much rather use my time planning and preparing to teach what my kids need to learn. Maybe I'm this way because I'm a newer teacher. I think themes are cute but I'm more concerned with making sure my students can meet the standards to go on to first grade. I would love opinions either way about this.

3. little317

little317 Groupie

Jul 30, 2009

We use a basal program, MacMillan Treasures. Each unit is 3 weeks long and revolves around a theme. Most of the themes are science and social studies topics, which is very helpful and more interesting for the kids. There are some weeks that I do have a special theme, but it's not often. Some of the weekly themes are fire safety, Dr. Seuss, all about school, pumpkins, etc.

I understand what you mean. Weekly themes are fine and cute, but if it doesn't correlate to what is required I have to think twice about it.

Our team does a lot of planning together, but our grade chair is great. She values us as individual teachers and allows us flexibility. The best part is, as a group we brainstorm different ways to incorporate the themes into standards based activities.

4. skittleroo

skittleroo Connoisseur

Jul 30, 2009

You can get the children to meet and exceed state standards while teaching with themes. Themes help me focus my energy, ideas, plans so that I'm not soo all over the place. It also helps kids understand things as a whole - not parts (putting pieces together afterward).