The whole class talks... Need advice

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by teacher667, Sep 29, 2007.

1. teacher667

teacher667 Rookie

Sep 29, 2007

I'm a seventh grade science teacher. What should I do if students talk over me even when I signal them to stop (I raise my hand to gesture). I've done this in the past, and it doesn't work. Let's say that no recess is permitted in the school, so taking it away is not even an option (I've been hired to work in a school with no recess). Like I said, the majority of the students are having full conversations during class, so it'd be difficult to isolate just a few (b/c it's almost everyone!) Please give me specific advice. I'm a new teacher and don't want to burn out! I had a tough time last year with this same issue. Also, I'm a cluster, so I don't see the same students all day. Thanks in advance.

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Sep 29, 2007

Some ideas I have seen on this forum are to just stand there saying in a monotone voice, "We will begin when you are quiet" over and over. Tell them that what you don't get to in class that day will be homework(make sure you let the parents know this in advance). Email the parents and let them know the problems that you are having in class. Spring a pop quiz on them over material that you would have covered the previous day but didn't get to because they were talking. After giving the pop quiz, tell that you won't grade them unless their talking becomes a problem again.

4. Lyquidphyre

Lyquidphyre Comrade

Sep 29, 2007

I hold my kids after the bell.
    At first I just stared at my watch and didn't say anything and then I started saying "That's 5 secs of my time... 10 secs of my time..."... and now I just go "That's 5 secs!" and they know that is 5 secs after the bell. If they start up again I say "Do you want to make it 10?"... and sometimes when they make me really mad I say "That's a minute!"