The Whoas Online teaching

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by mrsammieb, Jul 29, 2020.

1. mrsammieb

mrsammieb Devotee

Jul 29, 2020

So, my school district is starting the school year off digitally. I have mixed feelings. Regardless, this is how it is going to be. I LOVE teaching and I do think for the most part, I am a pretty good teacher. However, I do not love making videos. I feel like I need to glam up, and well that isn't me. So then I am just being me, but I feel I don't look professional enough. Ugh! I teach first grade and I know parents will be looking at all the videos etc. Some teachers are getting the ring lights etc but I really don't want to do all that! Is that just how things are going to be? What do you do? Do I just be me, or put on a show?

3. MissCeliaB

MissCeliaB Aficionado

Jul 29, 2020

I'll set up the lights I already have, but I teach film, so I already have lights.

I recorded several of my videos this summer to get ahead. I made sure I had on a bra, and usually wore a school shirt or T-shirt related to whatever genre films we were learning. I literally don't own makeup, so I bought some powder to put on to stop weird shiny spots, and I wore some chapstick so I didn't look completely dried out, but that's the best they got.

If I taught littles, I'd wear a silly hat or something in each video.

Tired Teacher and Backroads like this.
  4. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Jul 29, 2020

I do not make myself the focus of my videos. I show my hands if I’m making something, or my screen if I’m explaining something. I have a presentation that goes along with my discussion, so I just use that.

Backroads, miss-m and bella84 like this.
  5. miss-m

miss-m Devotee

Jul 29, 2020