The Whoas Online teaching

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by mrsammieb, Jul 29, 2020 at 6:16 AM.

1. mrsammieb

mrsammieb Devotee

Jul 29, 2020 at 6:16 AM

So, my school district is starting the school year off digitally. I have mixed feelings. Regardless, this is how it is going to be. I LOVE teaching and I do think for the most part, I am a pretty good teacher. However, I do not love making videos. I feel like I need to glam up, and well that isn't me. So then I am just being me, but I feel I don't look professional enough. Ugh! I teach first grade and I know parents will be looking at all the videos etc. Some teachers are getting the ring lights etc but I really don't want to do all that! Is that just how things are going to be? What do you do? Do I just be me, or put on a show?

3. MissCeliaB

MissCeliaB Aficionado

Jul 29, 2020 at 7:14 AM

I'll set up the lights I already have, but I teach film, so I already have lights.

I recorded several of my videos this summer to get ahead. I made sure I had on a bra, and usually wore a school shirt or T-shirt related to whatever genre films we were learning. I literally don't own makeup, so I bought some powder to put on to stop weird shiny spots, and I wore some chapstick so I didn't look completely dried out, but that's the best they got.

If I taught littles, I'd wear a silly hat or something in each video.

Backroads likes this.
  4. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Jul 29, 2020 at 12:34 PM

I do not make myself the focus of my videos. I show my hands if I’m making something, or my screen if I’m explaining something. I have a presentation that goes along with my discussion, so I just use that.

Backroads, miss-m and bella84 like this.
  5. miss-m

miss-m Devotee

Jul 29, 2020 at 1:13 PM