The value of a college degree

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ryhoyarbie, Jul 29, 2009.

1. ryhoyarbie

ryhoyarbie Comrade

Jul 29, 2009

Let's take out the bad economy for the moment and pretend it's not happening.

What's the importance of a college degree in your opinion, aside from getting a job in a high end demand area like the medical profession or in the engineering profession?

Yes there are jobs that require a college degree like being a teacher, a lawyer, social worker, an accountant, etc. But what's the importance if you get one but don't use it and end up getting jobs that require a high school diploma paying about 10 or 11 dollars an hour? Would it be your fault for not trying to get a better job?

I myself, when I graduated in May of 2005 with a bachelor's degree in history, have been doing jobs that only pay 9 or 10 dollars an hour. The economy wasn't a mess in 2005 or in 2006 either. The jobs I've been doing haven't allowed me to use my degree. Even the last job I had before I decided to substitute had another guy who was just hired making more money than me and he was only 20 with a high school diploma, and I had been at that place for a year, had more working experience in that job and other jobs, and had a bachelor's degree.

Perhaps I should have learned a trade instead............

So aside from obtaining more knowledge or knowing how to study better or write papers better, what's you opinion of a college education if it doesn't help in the long run?

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Jul 29, 2009

I think it depends on WHAT you get your degree in. If you get your degree in a field that is growing (no matter what the economy is doing), then of course you'll be using for more than wall decoration. If you get a degree in a field like history, there is just so much you can do with that degree and it limits the opportunities you have.

4. rachaelski

rachaelski Habitué

Jul 29, 2009