The Token Interviewee

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by lmha01, Apr 2, 2017.

1. lmha01

lmha01 Rookie

Apr 2, 2017

This is a little bit of venting here, so bear with me...

It seems that every job interview I've gone on, it's been like I'm only interviewed as the token interviewee. I am currently in the process of gaining my professional certificate through alternative licensure in my state. I have been teaching now for a couple of years and am at the tail end of the program. One of the major reasons why I am looking elsewhere is that I drive almost an hour to work and almost an hour and a half back (due to traffic). It is wearing me down. I also have small children, so I want to be closer to them should anything comes up. The other biggest reason is that I do not get along well with the new administration this year. I almost feel bullied and certainly intimidated this year by them and for the sake of my sanity, I need to go elsewhere. It is so bad (the two reason combined), that I am willing to give up the entire thing and just stay home with my children. That brings me to my title of this post. Every year now, I've gotten interviews from a few school districts. Few and far between. Each one, I feel as though I've been brought in just so that they can say they interviewed X amount of people. I'm confused as to what it is about me that makes me so expendable. Even when I got this current job, the principal just brought me in to be a warm body in the classroom. It wasn't until later that they were impressed with my classroom management and teaching. I have been told, however, that the previous administration (all except two) has thrown me under the bus on the way out.