The one thing you know you need to do better...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by mrsammieb, Jul 9, 2016.

1. mrsammieb

mrsammieb Devotee

Jul 9, 2016

For me, it is transitioning. I am NOT good at moving from one subject to the next without a little crazy town in the middle. I feel like I have good lessons and good behavior management, but moving from one point to the next is where I ALWAYS have sorta sucked. I know they are not little robots that can put word work away and begin reading without a little hiccup. But I wish I could be better. Do you have one area you know you need to better at?

3. Leaborb192

Leaborb192 Enthusiast

Jul 9, 2016

Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
    mrsammieb likes this.
  4. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Jul 9, 2016

Just one? That's just cruel :p There's tons I could mention!

One area is making sure I walk in the students' footsteps with most of what I ask them to do. That means modeling writing, trying out activities/assignments myself, testing out a new way of going about independent reading work (I'm doing a journal over the summer much like I'll ask them to do, to work out any kinks and make sure I think it'll be worthwhile). They buy in more when they see that, and I'm able to identify areas I'll need to focus more on or that might not be clear.

mrsammieb likes this.
  5. phillyteacher

phillyteacher Comrade

Jul 9, 2016

Keeping up with grading for sure.

ready2learn and mathmagic like this.
  6. K-5_teacherguy

K-5_teacherguy Companion

Jul 9, 2016

It may seem minor, but I need to improve my end of day routine. I got complimented several times in my first year on my classroom management, but those people were clearly never around at the very end of the day! I won't say it was chaos, but it was close.

Definitely something I'll be changing up in year 2!

MsZzz, otterpop and mrsammieb like this.
  7. teacherquestions

teacherquestions Rookie

Jul 9, 2016