The Longer You Teach, the Meaner You Get

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Ms. I, Nov 8, 2007.

1. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

Nov 8, 2007

Have you noticed that as the years go by, you're meaner, or maybe I'll say firmer than you used to be?

I've been subbing for several yrs & had my own classroom for one year, but I notice that I'm the firmest I've ever been with the kids when they misbehave. I don't feel guilty about it. It shows me that I can stay on top of it because let's face it, kids are very bad & smart alecky these days. They need a good kick in the rear (not literally of course). I think it's normal & every teacher gets to that point where they have a system that works for them because they've seen it many times before.

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Nov 8, 2007

I don't think I'm meaner.

I think I'm better able to handle a variety of situations; to adapt and think on my feet.

I think I'm more consistent; I know what my rules are, don't have to struggle to remember what I said I would do if the kids did ____

I'm more confident; it shows in my face and voice. When I "ask" a student to pick up a piece of paper or throw out gum, he does it whether he knows me or not, because I've developed a tone of authority that I didn't have when I started.

I'm not sure I agree that "kids are very bad and smart alecky these days"-- I think that kids are kids and they're pretty much the way they've always been. I think the change I've seen has been in myself and the way I deal with those kids.

4. ChristyF

ChristyF Moderator

Nov 8, 2007

I think I'm definitely more firm than I used to be. I coddle a lot less than I did. I still love them and still cry and pray for them nightly, but I'm much more consistent in the room. I find myself working to earn the title of Super Teacher - Able to control unruly students with a single look. :D

5. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Nov 8, 2007