The Infamous Application Process

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Pumpkin0926, May 25, 2018.

1. Pumpkin0926

Pumpkin0926 Rookie

May 25, 2018

Hi all!
    I am new to the A to Z teacher stuff site, and look forward to reading and posting on the forum!
    So I graduated in December and was miraculously able to find a long term subbing position for a maternity/paternity leave for a teacher couple that lasts until the end of the school year. I love it here, but unfortunately they have no positions open for next year so I am now on the job hunt.

That being said, I have sent a TON of applications thus far, to a good variety of districts near me. Now we wait.

My question/concern is when do, at this point in the year, do they actually go though applicants and start calling for interviews? School is still in session around here. Do schools typically start interview processes once school is over and summer begins? Or does it just vary from district to district?

I am both very nervous and anxious about finding a job for the new upcoming school year. I know I have a great resume for being a recent grad, but I just don't know. I know patience is the key here but gosh I am just waiting to get anything at all about interviews! (plus I want to move out from my parents' place ASAP; so knowing where I get a job would be helpful in the apartment search)

What are some of your experiences being a first time/new teacher and finding a job?

Also, any tips for the interview process?

:) Thanks all! I appreciate it!

Last edited: May 25, 2018
  3. geoteacher

geoteacher Devotee

May 25, 2018

This is the heat of interview season in my area. Most hiring will conclude in the next two weeks because after that it will be harder to get interview teams together. Things will be very slow in July, but there will again be activity of last-minute hiring in August when the principals return.

4. Leaborb192

Leaborb192 Enthusiast

May 25, 2018

Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
  5. bella84