The first two weeks of school?

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by pwhatley, Jun 7, 2013.

1. pwhatley

pwhatley Maven

Jun 7, 2013

I've been teaching 1st for the past 5 years, and I always spent the first two weeks (1) reviewing Kindergarten, (2) introducing, modeling, practicing, and reviewing rules & procedures, and (3) completing AIMSweb introductory testing (math). We don't do running records in reading, so I have to wait until we do our Fall DIBELS screening to get a real idea of where my kids are there (aside from anecdotal information derived during class, and their 2nd grade records).

What do you do during the first two weeks of school? I know that 3rd grade is expected to "dive in" to lesson work a lot sooner than 1st, so I can't wait to do "lesson 1" in our Storytown basals that long. (We don't have the materials to not use Storytown, so we're having to align them and make them work (or purchase the materials ourselves)).

Any suggestions would be great!

3. thirdgradebuzz

thirdgradebuzz Comrade

Jun 7, 2013

I have taught third grade for 5 years, and I have started out pretty much the same each year. They're old enough that they don't need AS MUCH drilling of routines. They catch on pretty quickly. On the first day, I try to stick to the schedule as much as possible and go over all routines as we get to them.

When they come in the morning, I introduce myself and go over a PowerPoint about third grade/my class, discuss rules, and we go through our supplies and put extras away (in cabinet).

Then we "start over" and I literally have them pack up their bookbags and we walk to the door of the classroom and practice how they are to enter the room, choose lunch, go to seat and what they do to get ready for morning work/etc. Whatever your particular procedures are for the morning.