The beyond unmotivated students

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by TateMcRose, Mar 25, 2017.

1. TateMcRose

TateMcRose Guest

Mar 25, 2017

Hi there,
    So this is my first year teaching at a small school in Michigan. I teach art at the high school level and for the most part I'm loving my job. However in a few of my classes I have these students who just will not do any work or participate the entire semester.

When I look at their grades they are all failing every class. one of them is even a senior who lives on his own, so I can't even contact the parents for support.
    It aggravates me to just watch them sit there on their phones EVERY. SINGLE. DAY. (We can't take them for legal reasons).
    I could send them to in school suspension but that won't help them. When I talk to them in class, they sit there stone face an give me no response. I just don't know if there's anything I can do to help them at this point, but I'd feel like a bad teacher if I don't at least try.

It's frustrating too cause when I ask administration for support they just tell me to contact the parents, but it seems to have no effect.

Is there nothing I can do at this point? There is only two months left of the school year, so they've already made their decisions to fail, but do I put up with it in my classroom?

3. Clay Morgan

Clay Morgan Rookie

Mar 25, 2017

I teach mainly seniors.

They return from Spring Break Tuesday for their fourth and final quarter, with graduation only 6 weeks away. I've been dealing with it all year and it is about to get worse with the seniors.

You have to make some decisions about the amount of time you are going to invest in each student who has "checked out" trying to get him or her back on track.

For me, I exceed school protocol. My "on the book responsibility" is to notify the parent each quarter if the student is going to fail.

Here are the steps I take: