Thank you note response

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by collteach, Jul 8, 2010.

1. collteach

collteach Comrade

Jul 8, 2010

I had my interview today for a 4th grade position. I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to have this job, as I would be working with many former colleagues in a wonderful, almost brand-new school in a grade level in which I have a lot of successful experience.

So, after the interview, I decided to draft a very simple "thank you" email to the people on the interview panel. One responded pretty soon after I sent the email, but now her response has me wondering. It is very nice and also very short and simple, but something about the wording has me feeling that they did not select me. One thing she said was "I wish you the very best moving forward." My mother, who is here visiting, read the email and said that it sounds like she was very carefully choosing her words so that she did not give away anything about my status at this point. I should say that this principal does not work at the school where I interviewed, and she is also someone who was hoping to hire me for a position at her school (the odd hiring process at this system prevented that though, since I was not eligible to be interviewed for open positions she had).

I feel that it was great that she even took the time to respond, but now I have to wait for possibly a week or more to get news. I am sort of regretting sending the email now :)

3. klc92201

klc92201 Companion

Jul 8, 2010

I understand and feel the same way about the response I was given by a principle last week. She seems so wishy washy and I have great reference from her school and district. It is so frustrating. I think you did what you could do and the right thing by saying Thank you. The other thing, I do is always write a hand written thank you as well. I really think this is the personal touch that in the past has gotten me jobs when they weren't planning on offering me the job. Good luck!

4. Aliceacc