Texes Gen 4-8 MATH Section, How hard?

Discussion in 'Multiple Subject Tests' started by Teach1621, May 4, 2010.

1. Teach1621

Teach1621 Rookie

May 4, 2010

Hello All,

I am new to the A to Z Teacher forums and have been reading some of the other posts regarding the Texes 4-8 exam, which I will be taking Thursday. I took the practice exam from the testing website and while the ELA, Sci,SS were not too bad the MATH was horrendous. I've asked I do not know how many people for help, but most have no idea how to figure out the problems. I was wondering if the actual math on the test was THAT hard? I did study last years 9th/10th grade math Taks tests, and they were not really all that hard. If it is indeed as hard as the practice exam, I feel doomed. Any input would be greatly appreciated, and it is very encouraging to hear about so many of you passing!

3. texjess2010

texjess2010 Companion

May 4, 2010

Good luck to you!!! I will precede this by saying math is NOT my strong suit! I did pass the math part ok last month. Focus on probabilty and geometry is my advice. That's what's mainly in the guide and the test (though I think each test taker's is random) seems to follow the same format. I did not think it was easy by any means but if you can work the problems in the state guide you will be ok. I posted on here a couple of months back with some specific guide questions. If you have questions I can show you how I worked some and there are fantastic math teachers on here who helped me sooooo much! Just ask away! You will do fine!

4. Teach1621

Teach1621 Rookie

May 4, 2010