Texas teachers..TAKS too easy?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by smalltowngal, Oct 4, 2007.

1. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Oct 4, 2007

I saw a report on the news tonight that some people in Washington deemed the TAKS test too easy. They went on to say that we were giving these students a false sense of success. What a bunch of idiots!!

What do you think?

3. Mrs. R.

Mrs. R. Connoisseur

Oct 5, 2007

They said thr Illinois test was "too easy" too. I think I heard on the news that ours was the second easiest test in the nation. The news, however, did not say how the test was evaluated. Being a language arts teacher, I am VERY aware of the reading and writing tests. These tests are NOT easy to pass (at least not the extended response section of the reading test). The rubrics for the written portion are quite specific, and I actually use these rubrics to score much of my students' writing throughout the year, even though they don't take the ISAT writing test until 8th grade. Believe it or not, you can use the ISAT rubric and help your kids become better writers - without the formulaic 5 paragraph essay!

4. bandnerdtx

bandnerdtx Aficionado

Oct 5, 2007

I think we're approaching a presidental election, so they (both sides) are going to say whatever they think will get them the most votes, regardless of any actual evidence or truths.

Having said that, I teach 11th grade English in Texas -- the year the Exit level English/Language Arts test is given -- and NO, I don't think the test is too easy. I don't think it's too hard either. The kids have to read and respond to two reading passages and write a personal narrative. Nothing overly difficult about that.

The science test is a KILLER. The kids are tested on specifics about biology, but some of them haven't been in a biology class in 2 years. The failure rate is astronomical.

5. caringforkids

caringforkids New Member

Oct 5, 2007