Texas Teachers Alternative Certification Program

Discussion in 'General Education' started by CaliPro, Dec 15, 2011.

1. CaliPro

CaliPro Rookie

Dec 15, 2011

Hey everyone,

I'm a NC resident that graduated in 2009 with a business degree and have decided I want to teach.

Was looking for the best and fastest ways to become certified and Texas Teachers appears to be my best option.

Anyone have any experience with this program?

I'm looking to teach ESL out of the country and do their online program while i'm away for the year then return and complete the year of probationary teaching in order to get fully licensed.

Also, is this program considered "Highly Qualified"? And which states would I be able to teach in after going this route of certification?

Again, thanks,

3. kme93

kme93 Companion

Dec 15, 2011

I'm currently getting certified through iteachtexas. It's very similar to Texas Teachers. Once you enroll in the program and pass your content test, you are considered "highly qualified". You must finish the program to keep the "highly qualified" rating. You will only be able to teach in Texas. Each state has it's own certification.

I know people that have used Texas Teachers and it seemed to be fine. It is hard(er) to get a teaching job on your probationary certificate. However, once you have completed the probationary year, you have the same regular certification that you would have if you went through a university (though not the education degree).

4. CaliPro

CaliPro Rookie

Dec 15, 2011

You have to already been hired to finish the training I believe.

Why did you pick the other one and not Texas Teachers?

5. kme93

kme93 Companion

Dec 15, 2011