Texas Teacher openings in January?

Discussion in 'Job Hunting & Interviews' started by newtothis2006, Dec 13, 2006.

1. newtothis2006

newtothis2006 Rookie

Dec 13, 2006

Anyone from Texas especially the Dallas Ft Worth area - PLEASE LEND YOUR ADVICE. Here is my situation. I am enrolled into an Alternative Certification Program- IteachTexas. I work as an aide currently at a high school. I thought that I would be able to work as an aide and find a job starting in January. I have my application out at a handful of nearby districts. There are job postings at some of them. I send personal emails to the principals at the schools that are hiring. I have yet to hear back from anyone! I am getting really worried that I will not find anything for the Spring. I know that teachers leave from time to time and sometimes create new positions so why am I having such a hard time? Texas does not have an overage of teachers I don't think. I personally believe that districts do not like candidates that are in Alternative Certification. I read on a couple of district websites that they will not consider Alternative candidates- they want certified applicants. One district is having a job fair next year and in the fine print is says that only certified applicants are allowed to attend and which does not include alternative certification. I am getting really stressed out and depressed. I am making less money as an aide then when I worked as a bank teller in college! I want to continue working in education but have either got to get hired as a teacher or get a 3rd job. Any suggestions or input from those experience would be appreciated.

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Dec 13, 2006

Hi, I'm not from Texas and have no background in Alt Cert. But, as usual, that won't keep me from expressing an opinion :)