tests for kindergarten

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by Iris228, Mar 13, 2007.

1. Iris228

Iris228 Rookie

Mar 13, 2007

I teach K in a private school in which I am the only K classroom. In a convention recently I met another teacher from our branch of schools who is the only K teacher in her building too. We were discussing some of the things we do in our classrooms and debating how much academics/play there "should be" in our classrooms. I personally believe that students learn best through play at this age. However, I also use my time to do shared reading, guided reading (though I do not have leveled books available in my school so I am "winging it" in a sense), and independent reading in my LA block. She told me that she uses spelling tests to assess in her classroom and suggested that I should be doing this as well so that my K kids will be ready for the tests they will encounter in first grade. I am a first year teacher so any advice on this would be appreciated. I don't want my kids to be "behind" or unprepared when they get to first. How do you run your LA block and do you think spelling tests are a good idea?

3. TeacherShelly

TeacherShelly Aficionado

Mar 13, 2007

It is paramount to build a love of reading and writing through language arts starting at Kindergarten. Focusing on spelling is an unnecessary complication and might turn students off of reading or writing. Let them flow with the story they are writing. Let them read age appropriate literature, or hear it read aloud if they aren't reading yet.

Just because they will eventually have to face spelling tests does not mean they should in Kindergarten. And besides, it isn't developmentally appropriate to learn to spell before you learn to read and write. Just say no :)

4. Iris228

Iris228 Rookie

Mar 14, 2007