testing

Discussion in 'Special Education Archives' started by Guest, Mar 9, 2003.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Mar 9, 2003

Hi! I was wondering about how testing works in your schools and districts. I live in Illinois, and ISATS (Illinois Standard Achievement Tests) are coming up at the end of this month. I teach Special Ed, and all of my students are LD, or MR. I have 2 students who are currently working 4 grade levels below thier actual grade, and the rest are 1-2 grade levels below. But, I have to test them at their grade level. At this point, I'm really frustrated, because obviously I can't read the Reading test to them, and the Math test is going to be a joke. What is the point in even having Special Ed, and even modifying in the regular classroom for our slow learners, if we are going to say, "You need to give them work based on their ability level, but then we're going to test them at their grade level." I'm a first year teacher, and my stress level is so incredibly high right now. Basically, I'm just curious to know how other schools and special ed teachers handle this. With the NCLB Act, I'm not so sure our school is going to make it. I don't know, maybe I'm making something out of nothing. Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

3. AngelaS

AngelaS Cohort

Mar 9, 2003

In Maryland, they basically teach the spec ed kids on their developmental level and then test them on their age level. So even if a ten-year-old has been doing a seven-year-old's work all year, come March s/he will be tested on information light years ahead of what that child is ready to comprehend. No child left behind, right?:mad:

4. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Mar 9, 2003