Testing in Massachusetts

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by lmb45, Oct 31, 2005.

1. lmb45

lmb45 Rookie

Oct 31, 2005

I am currently a licensed teacher in Ohio. In November I am taking the Massachusetts state licensure test for grade levels Pre-K-2. I am trying to prepare for these tests but am having difficulty knowing what to expect. In Ohio we are not tested on content areas, such as Math, Science, and History. We do, however, have to know Theorists and be able to cite them. If anyone can give me some advice I would appreciate it!

3. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Oct 31, 2005

You're taking the general curriculum test in November? I'm licensed in elementary (1-6) so my test was slightly different. The math was easy because it's basically just math for that grade-level, the science is really just basic science knowledge, the thing I found it the most difficult to study for was the history. It's a very broad topic and you never know what is going to be asked. Make sure you know your stuff about the U.S. and the Massachusetts constitutions. The general curriculum test is honestly almost impossible to study for because you're tested on everything..Language Arts, Math, History, Science, and child development. Good luck! :)

By the way, welcome to a to z!

4. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Oct 31, 2005

I just looked at the DOE website and it's not called general curriculum for prek-2, it's just called early childhood...sorry! :) Here's the link for the test objectives for that test: http://www.mtel.nesinc.com/PDFs/MTELobjs_newfld02.pdf

Have you taken the Communication and Literacy or Foundations of Reading tests yet?

5. lmb45

lmb45 Rookie

Oct 31, 2005

I am taking the Communication and Literacy test at the same time. I will take Foundations of Reading in March. Thanks for the tips and the link!

6. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Oct 31, 2005

No problem. :)