Testing Day Questions

Discussion in 'Basic Skills Tests' started by Britgirl, Jul 17, 2016.

1. Britgirl

Britgirl Guest

Jul 17, 2016

Hi! I'm a newbie to this forum and was wondering if anyone here has recently sat the computerised CBEST test and could please share their experiences?

I am due to sit the combined reading, writing and mathmatic test on a computer at me local test center and have the following questions:

!) I know that calculators are not allowed in the test, but am I allowed scratch paper? I definately need to jot down working for the math portion, and I also need to scribble down my essay skeleton plan. Do they provide pencil and paper, or can I take my own materials?

2) If I'm not allowed scratch paper, I'm in trouble. Should I apply for paper based testing instead?

3) Are you allowed to take food (gum/mints) and water into the test?

4) I know cellphone are not allowed. Can I leave it in my purse/pocket turned off or do I need to leave it at home? (I need to call for my ride after the exam.)

Anything else that surprised you?

Thank you

3. mathteachertobe

mathteachertobe Cohort

Jul 17, 2016

Every testing facility I've been to provided little lockers to lock your stuff in.

4. cocobean

cocobean Companion

Jul 17, 2016

When I took the CSET I received a dry erase notebook and marker for scratch paper and notes. All belongings were left in a small locker and all I took into the testing room was my ID and the key to my locker. No water/mints/gum etc. but you could be excused for water.

5. Leaborb192

Leaborb192 Enthusiast

Jul 18, 2016