Terrified Future New Teacher...

Discussion in 'Job Hunting & Interviews' started by TxChelsey, Jun 25, 2006.

1. TxChelsey

TxChelsey Rookie

Jun 25, 2006

I am looking for lots of advice from anyone (veteran or rookie) willing to give it! I recently graduated from college at the ripe old age of 29 and my life's work has been in retail management. Needless to say, this will be a huge transition for me. My degree is in Psychology and I have a minor in English, and I never even considered teaching until I graduated. In Texas, they are quite desperate for teachers and I was recruited by several alternative certification agencies immediately after I received my degree, so I have decided to give it a shot. I will be starting my courses next week through iteachTEXAS and I will be taking my first state content exam the second week of July (EC-4). Will I have ample time to prepare for this (I am a strong student and test taker)? I won't be able to job hunt until I complete this test, which will leave me about 3 weeks before the semester starts. I have found many school districts with application deadlines as late as July 19th, but is this realistically enough time to find a job? Also, the great big one, how in the world will I know what to do my first day? How much of the actual job is left up to me and how much is dictated by the school district? Will this all become clear as I began my certification training? Advice, please.:eek:

3. bronxteacher

bronxteacher New Member

Jun 25, 2006

I am a teacher in NYC, so it might be different for you, but I know that teachers leave their positions all summer long for a variety of reasons so there are always positions available. However, you may end up in the least desirable districts. If they are so deparate for teachers however, I can't imagine that you would have a hard time finding a position. Last year, my school was hiring well into October!!