Terrible 1st post

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Jr1973, Jan 27, 2020.

1. Jr1973

Jr1973 Rookie

Jan 27, 2020

I was offered and accepted a job at a school mid year. I am a new grad teacher. I am certified. I was "onboarded" which included HR and then being sent into an unruly 6th grade science class that has been through 1 permanent teacher and 10 long term subs since sept. I have no access.....no curriculum and the kids say because I'm white and male I don't care and I'll leave anyway. I want to say they are wrong but if I can't get their attention longer than for them to tell me they aren't going to do the work or listen they may be right.

This maybe a good time to mention I didn't sign any contract because the system was "down". I am getting an offer from a more stable school today. I am considering it. It breaks my heart because I see brief moments of high intelligence in the students. However I feel I am doing more harm than good if I can not reach them at all.

Can anyone tell me if I am obligated to stay if I have not physically signed a contract?

3. Pi-R-Squared

Pi-R-Squared Groupie

Jan 27, 2020

The kids are used to having temporary teachers. It's detrimental to long-term stability if the school can't keep a teacher in the classroom for more than 2 weeks..... Being white and male makes no difference in whether you want to stay or go. They've just give you your first test, sort of.... Will you bail on them as they've probably seen other white males do the same? Since you asked about being obligated to stay, looks like the kids succeeded in getting another teacher out. And hey, I'd probably do the same!!! I'd get out of there fast!! Seems like a toxic place to work.... Takes a certain and special teacher to handle the rough crowd... I'd jump ship if I had a better offer.

4. TeacherNY

TeacherNY Phenom

Jan 27, 2020